Manny! Manny! Manny!

02Aug08

Okay, so I haven’t written in a while, but nothing that exciting has happened to me as of late.  I found a really cool blog that I enjoy http://officeofstrategicinfluence.com/rachael/.  Its basically this guy writing about how stupid this girl is that lives with him.  I feel as though I can entirely and thoroughly relate to his situation.  Not that I’ve ever lived with a girl…but I’ve met a many who drive me insane.  My life is actually pretty boring lately.  I go to work, I go to school, I’m too tired to do much else.  Enough about me though, I’ve decided today to rant about one of my favorite athletic teams in all of professional sports: THE DOYERS (Dodgers to the whites).

Typically, being a Dodger fan is a stressful situation.  The last 2x we’ve seen the playoffs, out in the first round!  The last big name we signed was a man by the name of Nomar Garciaparra(Torre doesn’t count, seeing as he doesn’t play), who has played fragments of the season because his now “steroidless” body can’t put up with the stress of playing baseball…such an active sport.  Management for the past 5 years has basically been a joke.  Not willing to spend the money for a big bat, making the worse free agent signings in the entire universe(see: Andruw Jones, Jason Schmidt).  I long for the days of Piazza, Mondesi, and Karros.  But for all the misery we’ve been through, the baseball Gods finally decided to smile upon us.  They must have thought to themselves, “hey these guys actually watched this piece of shit team for the past 6 seasons, lets cut them a little slack.”  They did so in the form of Manny.

Personally, I love the guy.  Even if he weren’t hitting 20 HRs a season for the past 14 years, I would still think he’s just a bad motherfucker in general.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with baseball, there’s a saying…”that’s just Manny being Manny.”  Basically its a euphemism for that guys a cocky asshole who does what he wants.  THAT..is exactly the type of person I would be if I were him too.   Let me give you all my favorite example of Manny being Manny.  Situation:  ALCS, Red Sox down 8 or so runs, last inning.  Manny smacks a solo home run, bringing his team within 7 runs.  He then proceeds to stare at the ball, admire his work, raise his arms as though he’d just won the world series(see image above), and slowly jog the bases.  Any other player would have put his head down and quickly got off the diamond.  I love Manny.

Now putting my personal love for the guy aside, there are both pros and cons to the trade for Manny.  Because I like to be positive, I’ll start with pros finish with the cons, and decide which side wins.

PROS:

– We finally get the big bat we needed, perhaps helping our abysmal offense and allowing pitchers with 3.5 ERA’s to get some wins.

– Jeff Kent doesn’t have to hit cleanup.

– I get to see Manny being Manny on KCAL 9.

– Andruw Jones can take his ass to the bench finally….hitting under 200.

– There’s finally someone pitchers fear in the lineup.

– We didn’t have to give up any starters for him.

– Someone who can hit home runs!

CONS:

– Manny’s 36.

– Andre Either is wasting away on the bench.

– We have way too many outfielders…30 million dollar man sitting on the bench….(see Andruw Jones)

– We still don’t have a shortstop.

– Juan Pierre is in center.

– Band-wagoners = harder for me to get tickets.

DECISION:

MANNY FOR THE WIN. Deciding factor: I get to see Manny being Manny on KCAL 9.

We might make the playoffs this season.  Next season, If everyone gets healthy, and Manny gets resigned…We could potentially see an outfield of Kemp, Either, Manny, an an infield of Nomar, Furcal, Blake, Loney, Martin.  Holy shit. That would be amazing.  I Love LA.

One Response to “Manny! Manny! Manny!”

  1. 1 Farhaad

    Ah, you beat me to it. I have to put my own spin on the Manny situation. Good read.


Leave a Reply

